Match vs. Browse

One of the things we hear quite a bit from employers is “why does WorkInTexas.com limit me to recruiting for a specific job site?” Truth is, it doesn’t. Yes, when you enter a job posting you do have to specify a job site location, and yes that does factor into which job seekers will see your posting. But even so, you’re not limited to only what the system gives you. Let me explain.

WorkInTexas.com provides employers (and job seekers) two different ways to find potential applicants (or job opportunities). One is “Match.” Match literally takes the required and pre-specified criteria from a job posting and those detailed on a job seekers’ Portfolio and bumps them together to compare things like skills, education, pay, and location. If those things match each other, you can see and contact the job seeker (and vice versa). And if they don’t, you can’t.

The other is “Search” (Browse). Browse allows employers to find potential applicants based on criteria they choose right then, completely independent of anything listed on their job posting. For example, if you posted a job in WorkInTexas.com for a Machine Operator in Borger, TX and knew that big manufacturing plant in San Antonio just closed but you’re not seeing those folks applying for your job, go to Browse Job Seekers, choose the Occupation & Location option, enter a job title and a San Antonio ZIP code and poof, there you go. And if you find someone you want to contact, simply select I’m interested in this job seeker, click next, select which job posting you want to associate them with and click the Make Contact link. And that’s it, you’ve just worked around the perceived limiting job site location. 

Employers (or Texas Workforce Solutions staff on an employer’s behalf) can do this as much as you like using any keywords, job titles, occupations, location, or other filtering criteria. You only need one active job posting with which to associate job seekers you like.

If you have additional questions, please contact a workforce professional near you. Happy Recruiting.

5 thoughts on “Match vs. Browse

  1. Christi April 3, 2012 / 5:47 pm

    I do not agree. I have a degree and because I have checked off “bachelor degree” it only shows me jobs that require that. Although I have a high school diploma…I am not shown/able to apply for those positions. Most people who are hiring for “bachelor degree” employees do not list them through this site. Therefore I miss out on jobs because I have not checked my “highest level of education” as HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA/G.E.D.
    Also the list of “Industries” is only limited to 3. This also excludes me from applying to jobs because it does not list all that I have experience in.
    I feel that I am disqualified from applying to numerous jobs that I qualify for. I have the experience and knowledge to work at most positions offered but due to the way that Work In Texas has catagories labeled in the system….I have missed out on positions.

    Like

  2. Scott Eychner April 10, 2012 / 6:06 pm

    Thank you for your comment. Someone will be in touch with you shortly to assist.

    Like

  3. Marcia June 26, 2012 / 7:09 pm

    Your site is not user friendly at all!

    Like

  4. Scott Eychner June 28, 2012 / 2:29 am

    Thank you for your comment. I’m sorry you did not have a good experience, and to that end We would like to get some detail from you about that; someone will be contacting you soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

