Working In Texas

It’s no shock to learn that Texas was recently named the Top State for Business 2012, according to CNBC’s sixth-annual study. The Lone Star state, while by no means immune to the economic rollercoaster of the last four years, has and continues to do better than much of the rest of the country.

In addition to being a good place for business, in many cases it’s also a good place to look for work. Forbes recently did a study to determine the top 10 best small and mid-sized cities for jobs in the country, and not surprisingly 8 of the top 20 are cities in Texas.

The methodology Forbes used to make these determinations was: they ranked all 398 current metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs) based on employment data from BLS from November 2000 through January 2012. Rankings were based on recent growth trends, mid-term growth, long-term growth, and each region’s economic size and momentum. Then, to rank cities based on size:

  • For small cities they looked at the 242 MSAs that had less than 150,000 jobs.
  • For mid-sized cities they looked at the 91 MSAs that had between 150,000 and 450,000 jobs.

Following are their lists. And to see what jobs are available in these areas in WorkInTexas.com, just click on the Texas city name.

Small Cities

  1. Odessa, Texas
  2. Midland, Texas
  3. Columbus, Indiana
  4. San Angelo, Texas
  5. Blacksburg, Virginia
  6. Casper, New York
  7. Williamsport, Pennsylvania
  8. Glens Falls, New York
  9. Lubbock, Texas
  10. Laredo, Texas

Mid-Sized Cities

  1. Lafayette, Louisiana
  2. Corpus Christi, Texas
  3. McAllen, Texas
  4. El Paso, Texas
  5. Charleston, South Carolina
  6. Knoxville, Tennessee
  7. Provo, Utah
  8. Bakersfield, California
  9. Boulder, Colorado
  10. Grand Rapids, Michigan

2 thoughts on “Working In Texas

  1. Rebecca Williams August 2, 2012 / 9:04 pm

    Every time I go to do a search my iPad freezes and I have to turn it off and restart it and go from the beginning logging back in only for it to do it again. This has been about 4 days of this so I have been using career builders website and having more luck as I have two phone interviews tomorrow8/3/12 and had one in person today. The problem is that it shows that I have no work search log when I’ve been applying to 5-10 jobs a day on average. I don’t want this to affect my benefits as I need them until I get my new job which I foresee being soon but the selection process does take some time as they pay a very good salary and want to make sure they have the right person because it costs more money to rehire. How can I show my applied for jobs so they know that I am very agressively trying? I can print out the log or copy and paste my applied for job list from the job sites. Would this be acceptable and where do I paste them? I can get a much better salary working from the job sites because they tend to hire people who are not on unemployment , especially at higher salaries. I have been in this career for 17 years and don’t want to under sale myself or short what I have worked so hard for. I don’t ever want to end up on unemployment again so it is very important for me not to just take any job. What is a solution? Signed Rebecca Williams RN CM. 817-721-9681. Please respond with a plausible solution . Thank you.

    Like

  2. Scott Eychner August 7, 2012 / 3:09 am

    Thanks for the comment. Someone will be in touch with you shortly to discuss.

    Like

Leave a Reply

